#15 — A Picture Walk With My Grandson

kid's books online, child education and development, child literacy, helping kids to read, taking pictures

My grandson and I went on a picture walk. I was the photographer, he was the director (as he often is at this age of 4). He pointed out what he wanted pictures of, I took them. Sometimes I snuck in a shot or two of my own choice. It was great. It was fun. We both liked it.

But there was more. I went home and printed the pictures. I asked him if he wanted to take the pictures home or have me mail them. He chose mail. I wanted to sit with him and write down his story of the picture walk, but the call of the Lego pirate set was too strong at that moment. So we moved to another activity. When he was getting ready to go home I asked him if he just wanted me to send the child education and development, early education children's activities, kid's stories online, blue folderpictures, or add some words about them. He chose words. I put his pictures in a folder with a few pages of words in between. And mailed them. We both liked it.

Then, later I got to thinking of more things we could do with these pictures.

 

  1. Make them into cards, put them in a stack, draw one and talk akid's books online, family stories, printed photos, early education children's activitiesbout what you see. Grandpa might like to join us for that one.
  2. Print two copies and make them into a matching game. When you turn over a match, you get to keep it.
  3. Make a matching game of pictures and words.
  4. Make a guessing game of drawing a card, not showing it to the other players. Then give them a clue so they can guess what it is. “I have a card of an animal that can walk up a wall and likes to sit in the sun.”
  5. Make a card to mail to someone using some of the pictures.
  6. Makeacollage of the pictures.

    Early education, educational children's games, kid's activities, print photos and match game

    Picture Walk Matching Game

We would like it. Maybe we’ll try one of those ideas.
Will you?

Kid'sBooksOnline, FamilyChildren'sStories, Children'sLiterature, PictureBooks

2 thoughts on “#15 — A Picture Walk With My Grandson

  1. Thank you for sharing! This is new to me! We have been following Glenn Doman method supplemented with Montessori & play based learning at home since the birth of my son who is now 3.5 yrs old. Your post about Blooms taxonomy is going to help me take our home learning to another level! We post a lot of my son’s early learning videos on YouTube. And relentlessly find new ways to fine tune our play and learning. Needless to say that I will be following your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

